United States GP 1980

United States GP, 1980

The US Grand Prix at Watkins Glen came just a week after the Canadian GP, where Alan Jones had won the World Championship, and as a result the entry was much as before. Jean-Pierre Jabouille was missing, having suffered serious leg injuries in an accident in Montreal and the French team decided to run just one one for Rene Arnoux. Kevin Cogan had given up with the second RAM Racing Williams and the car was entrusted to Geoff Lees instead.

In qualifying Bruno Giacomelli surprised everyone by taking pole for Alfa Romeo with Nelson Piquet (Brabham), Carlos Reutemann (Williams), Elio de Angelis (Lotus), Jones (Williams), Arnoux, Didier Pironi (Ligier) and Hector Rebaque (Brabham) filling the front four rows. The top 10 was completed by John Watson's McLaren and Andrea de Cesaris's Alfa. Further back Alain Prost qualified his McLaren 13th but decided to miss the race because of a bang on the head he had received when he suffered a suspension failure (his second in two events).

At the start Giacomelli went into the lead while Jones tried a little too hard and went bouncing off at the first corner, being followed through the sand by de Cesaris and Arnoux. On the race track Piquet was second with Reutemann third. Then came Pironi, de Angelis and Rebaque.

Jones was soon fighting back while Piquet, under pressure from Reutemann, made a mistake and spun off. By lap 28 Jones had climbed back up to third place by overtaking Pironi and a couple of laps later he took second from Reutemann and began to chase after Giacomelli. On lap 32, however, the Alfa Romeo cut out and rolled to a stop. Jones was in the lead and with Reutemann behind him it was an easy run to the flag. Pironi was third with de Angelis fourth, Laffite fifth and Mario Andretti sixth.

Jody Scheckter finished his last race in 11th place.

27 Alan Jones Williams-Cosworth  59 1h34m36.050s  
28 Carlos Reutemann Williams-Cosworth  59 1h34m40.260s  
25 Didier Pironi Ligier-Cosworth  59 1h34m48.620s  
12 Elio de Angelis Lotus-Cosworth  59 1h35m05.740s  
26 Jacques Laffite Ligier-Cosworth  58  12 
11 Mario Andretti Lotus-Cosworth  58  11 
16 Rene Arnoux Renault  58  
Marc Surer ATS-Cosworth  57  17 
50 Rupert Keegan Williams-Cosworth  57  15 
10 21 Keke Rosberg Fittipaldi-Cosworth  57  14 
11 Jody Scheckter Ferrari  56  23 
nc John Watson McLaren-Cosworth  50  
Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari  49 Accident 18 
nq Jean-Pierre Jarier Tyrrell-Cosworth  40  22 
30 Jochen Mass Arrows-Cosworth  36 Drive Shaft 24 
23 Bruno Giacomelli Alfa Romeo  31 Electrics 
Nelson Piquet Brabham-Cosworth  25 Spin 
31 Eddie Cheever Osella-Cosworth  21 Suspension 16 
Hector Rebaque Brabham-Cosworth  20 Engine 
29 Riccardo Patrese Arrows-Cosworth  16 Accident 20 
14 Jan Lammers Ensign-Cosworth  16 Steering Mount 25 
20 Emerson Fittipaldi Fittipaldi-Cosworth  15 Rear Suspension 19 
Derek Daly Tyrrell-Cosworth  Accident/ Suspension 21 
22 Andrea de Cesaris Alfa Romeo  Accident 10 
ns Alain Prost McLaren-Cosworth   Accident/ Injury 13 
nq 43 Mike Thackwell Tyrrell-Cosworth    26 
nq 51 Geoff Lees Williams-Cosworth    37