Canadian GP - Sunday - Race Incidents

Start, Canadian GP 2008

Start, Canadian GP 2008 

 © The Cahier Archive

Pre-race: Jenson Button (unscheduled changes to suspension set-up) and Sebastian Vettel (replacement chassis) are ordered to start from the pit lane.

Lap 1: On pole position for the second time this season - and the eighth time in his grand prix career - Lewis Hamilton makes a clean start to lead into Turn One. Robert Kubica holds off Kimi Raikkonen to retain second and Nico Rosberg vaults to fourth, ahead of Fernando Alonso. Felipe Massa runs sixth from Heikki Kovalainen, Rubens Barrichello, Nick Heidfeld, Kazuki Nakajima, Mark Webber, David Coulthard, Jarno Trulli, Timo Glock, Nelson Piquet, Adrian Sutil, Giancarlo Fisichella, Sebastien Bourdais (penalised five grid positions for an unscheduled gearbox change), Button and Vettel. Hamilton leads by 0.7s.

Lap 2: Hamilton pulls 1.4s clear. The order remains unchanged.

Lap 3: Hamilton posts a 1m18.211s to extend his advantage by 0.4s. Kubica is 1.6s clear of Raikkonen. Lap 4: Hamilton laps in 1m17.506s. His advantage grows to 2.9s.

Lap 5: Heidfeld passes Barrichello for eighth. Vettel wrests 18th from Bourdais.

Lap 7: Hamilton is 3.3s clear of Kubica, with another 2.8s to Raikkonen. Rosberg is 3.5s further adrift in fourth, 1.6s clear of Alonso.

Lap 9: Piquet passes Glock for 14th. Lap 10: Hamilton leads by 5.0s.

Lap 12: Piquet passes Trulli at the hairpin and moves up to 13th. Kovalainen is under pressure from Heidfeld.

Lap 14: After a string of personal bests, Raikkonen laps in 1m17.387s: he has closed to within 1.4s of Kubica. Sutil stops at Turn Three - the day's first retirement.

Lap 17: With Sutil's car still trackside, the Safety Car is deployed. Button pits.

Lap 19: Hamilton, Kubica, Raikkonen, Rosberg, Alonso, Massa, Kovalainen, Piquet, Bourdais and Button pit. Raikkonen and Kubica get away before Hamilton but stop at the pit exit light where Hamilton runs into Raikkonen and Rosberg clips the back of both. Hamilton and Raikkonen are out. Lap 20: Rosberg pits again.

Lap 21: Massa pits again.

Lap 22: Restart. Heidfeld leads from Barrichello, Nakajima, Webber, Coulthard, Trulli, Glock, Fisichella, Vettel, Kubica, Alonso, Piquet, Kovalainen, Button, Bourdais, Rosberg and Massa.

Lap 25: Heidfeld leads by 9.3s. He is lapping in the mid 1m17s, Barrichello in the high 1m19s. Rosberg passes Bourdais.

Lap 27: Heidfeld extends his lead to 12.3s.

Lap 28: Piquet spins at Turn Four. He drops to 17th - and last.

Lap 29: Heidfeld and Webber pit. Barrichello leads from Nakajima and Coulthard. Massa passes Bourdais.

Lap 30: Fisichella makes a long pit stop.

Lap 31: Kubica passes Heidfeld to lie seventh - the leading driver with a pit stop under his belt.

Lap 33: Nakajima pits. Massa passes Webber at the hairpin - but doesn't make the corner. Webber reclaims 13th.

Lap 34: Massa passes Webber properly.

Lap 35: Rosberg pits.

Lap 36: Barrichello pits. Coulthard leads.

Lap 37: Coulthard and Vettel pit. Trulli and Glock run one-two for Toyota.

Lap 39: Trulli pits. Glock leads from Kubica and Heidfeld. Massa passes Nakajima and Button.

Lap 40: Piquet pits and retires.

Lap 41: Glock is 0.4s clear of Kubica, with Heidfeld 11s further adrift. Alonso is right behind the German.

Lap 42: Glock pits, as does Bourdais.

Lap 44: Alonso passes Heidfeld at the hairpin, but slides wide. Fisichella pits.

Lap 45: Alonso crashes at Turn Two.

Lap 46: Kubica leads Heidfeld by 20.7s. Coulthard, third, is catching the German.

Lap 47: Nakajima pits for a fresh nose after a contact with Button. He slides into the wall as he enters.

Lap 48: Kubica continues to lap at least two seconds faster than everybody else. He leads by 25.1s.

Lap 49: Kubica pits - and rejoins with his lead intact. Glock passes Webber.

Lap 51: Kovalainen passes Barrichello at the hairpin and Massa passes both of them.

Lap 53: The lapped Fisichella spins off at Turn Four. Massa, Kovalainen, Button and Webber pit.

Lap 54: Kubica leads from Heidfeld, Coulthard, Barrichello, Glock, Trulli, Massa, Vettel, Rosberg, Kovalainen, Button, Webber and Bourdais.

Lap 55: Webber passes Button.

Lap 59: Barrichello slides over the grass at Turn Four and loses places to both Toyotas. Glock is now fourth, from Trulli.

Lap 60: 10 laps to go. Kubica leads Heidfeld by 12.6s. The German is now 7.3s clear of Coulthard. Kovalainen passes Rosberg for ninth.

Lap 61: Massa passes Barrichello. Kovalainen runs wide at Turn Six.

Lap 64: Kovalainen is closing on Vettel.

Lap 68: Massa passes Trulli for fifth.

Lap 69: Webber slows.

Lap 70: One year after his serious accident at the same venue, Kubica scores his maiden F1 victory. Heidfeld is second from Coulthard, Glock, Massa, Trulli, Barrichello, Vettel and Kovalainen. Rosberg, Button, Webber and the lapped Bourdais are the only other finishers.


Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter