Spanish GP - Sunday - Race Notes

Raikkonen leads Ferrari 1-2 in Spanish GP

Kimi Raikkonen, Spanish GP 2008

Kimi Raikkonen, Spanish GP 2008 

 © The Cahier Archive

Kimi Raikkonen won the Spanish GP in commanding fashion, his team mate Felipe Massa finishing second, some 3.2 seconds behind, to take a Ferrari sweep. Lewis Hamilton in the McLaren-Mercedes finished in third, 4.1 seconds behind the winner.

The win is Raikkonen's second of the season, and 17th of his career. The victory is the second Ferrari one-two in a row.

Robert Kubica in the BMW Sauber was fourth, followed by Mark Webber in the Red Bull-Renault in fifth, Jenson Button in the Honda in sixth, Kazuki Nakajima in the Williams-Toyota in seventh and Jarno Trulli in the Toyota in the final points paying position.

On the formation lap Alonso, while warming up his tyres, goes off on the grass to the inside of the final corner, but recovers.

At the start Massa passes Alonso for second and Hamilton passes Kubica for fourth into the first corner, behind polesitter Raikkonen.

On the first lap Sutil dives down the inside of Coulthard and the two cars bang with Sutil spinning, being collected by Sebastian Vettel - the Safety Car is deployed.

At lap three the race resumes in single file with Raikkonen leading Massa, Alonso, Hamilton, Kubica, Kovalainen, Heidfeld, Webber, Trulli and Piquet in tenth.

On lap 5 Nelson Piquet goes off into the gravel and rejoins in 18th place.

On lap 8 Piquet dives down the inside of Sebastien Bourdais, the two making contact, Piquet out on the spot, and Bourdais retiring with suspension damage in the pits.

On lap 9 Davidson pits - his car pushed into the garage.

By lap 15 Raikkonen reels off a string of fast laps to take a 3.3 second lead over Massa, the order of the top nine remaining the same, Rosberg running 10th.

On lap 16, Alonso is the first to pit from third, rejoining 11th, followed by Massa on lap 19, leader Raikkonen on lap 20, Webber and Trulli on lap 21, Hamilton and Kubica on lap 22.

On lap 22, something breaks on Heikki Kovalainen's McLaren, sending him straight off the corner into the tyre barriers at speed, the marshals working to remove the car, but no word on Kovalainen's condition

At lap 23 Heidfeld pits from the lead, while the pits are still closed, Barrichello, Button, Nakajima, Fisichella, Coulthard and Glock pitting the next lap. Barrichello returns to the track, his front nose falling off the car he returns to the pits.

Kovalainen is removed from the car, conscious and waving to the crowd

On lap 28 the race in resumed with Raikkonen leading Massa, Hamilton, Kubica, Heidfeld, Alonso, Webber, Trulli, Rosberg and Nakajima in tenth place.

On lap 33 Heidfeld receives a stop and go penalty for pitting while the pits were closed, falling from 5th to 15, while Barrichello pits once again to retire.

On lap 34 Alonso slows with smoke coming from the rear of his Renault and pulls off to retire.

At lap 40 Raikkonen leads Massa by 3.6 seconds, followed 2.5 seconds further back by Hamilton, Kubica, Webber, Trulli, Rosberg, Nakajima, Fisichella and Button in tenth.

On lap 41 Rosberg pulls off from seventh place on the main straight, his Williams-Toyota suffering an engine failure.

On lap 44 Fisichella pits, followed by Heidfeld on lap 45, Massa, Webber and Trulli on lap 46, leader Raikkonen, Hamilton and Kubica on lap 47.

At lap 50 the order was Raikkonen leading Massa by 2 seconds, followed 2.5 seconds further back by Hamilton, Kubica, Button, Nakajima, Webber, Coulthard. Glock and Trulli in tenth place.

On lap 51 Nakajima pits from sixth place, along with Glock pitting from ninth, Coulthard pitting the next lap from seventh, and Trulli on lap 53.

On lap 53 Glock dives to the inside of Coulthard, the German clipping his front wing, needing to pit for a repair, and Coulthard's rear tyre deflating with a puncture.

On lap 54 Button pits from fifth place.

On lap 55 Heidfeld passes Fisichella for ninth place.

At lap 56, with 10 laps to go, Raikkonen leads from Massa, Hamilton, Kubica, Webber, Button, Nakajima, Trulli, Heidfeld and Fisichella in tenth.

Follow grandprixdotcom on Twitter