Massa wins in Brazil, Alonso takes Championship

Felipe Massa, Brazilian GP 2006

Felipe Massa, Brazilian GP 2006 

 © The Cahier Archive

Felipe Massa won the Brazilian Grand Prix at Sao Paulo in his Ferrari, his second career victory. Fernando Alonso in the Renault finished in second place, clinching the Drivers Championship. Jenson Button finished on the podium in third place in the Honda.

Fourth place went to Michael Schumacher in his final race in his Ferrari - charging up through the field after falling to 20th place with a tyre puncture. Kimi Raikkonen in the McLaren-Mercedes finished fifth, Giancarlo Fisichella in the second Renault finished sixth, Rubens Barrichello in his Honda finished seventh, and Pedro de la Rosa in the second McLaren-Mercedes finished in the final points paying position.

Renault also clinched the Constructors Championship over Ferrari.

At the start Massa took the lead from Raikkonen and Trulli, with Alonso fourth, and Michael Schumacher up to sixth getting by the two Sauber-BMWs, his brother Ralf and Barrichello.

On the first lap the two Williams made contact, taking the rear wing off of Mark Webber car, and at the end of the first lap with damage to his car Nico Rosberg crashed at the final corner, his car ending up in the middle of the track, bringing out the safety car.

Under the safety car the order was Massa leading Raikkonen, Trulli, Alonso, Fisichella, Schumacher, Barrichello, Ralf Schumacher, Kubica and Button in tenth.

The race restarted on lap 6, with Schumacher battling Fisichella for fifth place, Schumacher getting by into the first corner, but clipping his rear tyre on Fisichella's front wing causing a tyre puncture, limping to the pits and falling to 20th place - over a minute behind the leader.

On lap 9 Ralf Schumacher pitted and retired, followed by his team mate Jarno Trulli on lap 10, retiring as well.

On lap 14 David Coulthard pitted and retired.

At lap 15 the order was Massa ten seconds ahead of Raikkonen, followed by Alonso, Fisichella, Barrichello, Button, Kubica, De la Rosa, Heidfeld, Speed in tenth and Schumacher in 17th - 70 seconds behind.

On lap 21 Raikkonen, Fisichella and Barrichello pitted, followed by leader Massa on lap 24, Button on lap 25, Aonso on lap 26, Kubica on lap 27, Heidfeld and Sato on lap 28.

On lap 28 both Alonso and Button get by Raikkonen to take second and third.

At lap 30 the order was Massa, 18 seconds ahead of De la Rosa (yet to make a stop), followed by Alonso, Button, Raikkonen, Fisichella, Barrichello, Kubica, Speed, Heidfeld in tenth and Schumacher in 13th - 45 seconds behind.

On lap 32 Liuzzi made his first stop, while Schumacher got past Doornbos - taking over 11th place. Speed making his first stop on lap 34.

On lap 35, De la Rosa on a one stop strategy pitted from second place along with Robert Doornbos. Monteiro was the final driver to make his stop on lap 40.

On lap 36 Schumacher got past Heidfeld to take 8th place.

At lap 38 the order was Massa leading Alonso by 24 seconds, followed by Button, Raikkonen, Fisichella, Barrichello, Kubica and Schumacher in eighth - 41 seconds behind.

On lap 39 Heidfeld pitted, the team replacing the front wing.

On lap 40 Schumacher passed Kubica to take seventh place but momentarily slowed and was repassed by the young Polish driver, Schumacher passing him again on the next lap.

On lap 46 Barrichello was the first to make his second stop, followed by Schumacher on lap 47, Sato on lap 48, Fisichella and Kubica on lap 49, Button on lap 50 and Raikkonen on lap 51.

On lap 51 Schumacher passes Barrichello to take over sixth place - reeling off a number of fastest laps.

On lap 52 Massa pitted from the lead, followed by Alonso on lap 54.

At lap 55 the order was Massa leading Alonso by 26 seconds, followed by Button, Raikkonen, Fisichella, Schumacher, Barrichello, De la Rosa, Kubica and Sato in tenth.

On lap 63 Fisichella under pressure went wide at the first corner letting Schumacher past to take over fifth place.

On lap 64 Heidfeld suffers a suspension failure and spins off at turn one.

On lap 68 Schumacher passes Raikkonen into the first corner to take over fourth place.