Button wins Hungarian GP

Jenson Button, Hungarian GP 2006

Jenson Button, Hungarian GP 2006 

 © The Cahier Archive

Jenson Button won his first Grand Prix victory in a wet-dry race at the Hungaroring today in his Honda. Second place was Pedro de la Rosa in his McLaren-Mercedes 30 seconds behind and Nick Heidfeld in his Sauber-BMW in third some 13 seconds further back.

Rubens Barrichello was fourth in his Honda, David Coulthard in the Red Bull-Ferrari was fifth, Ralf Schumacher in the Toyota finished sixth, Robert Kubica in his debut race in the Sauber-BMW was seventh, and Felipe Massa in the Ferrari finished in the final points paying position.

The race started with a wet track, most drivers starting on intermediate wet tyres. At the start Raikkonen taking the lead from pole with Barrichello slotting into second, Michael Schumacher going from eleventh to fourth on the first lap, and Fernando Alonso from 15th to sixth.

At lap 2, the order was Raikkonen leading Barrichello, De la Rosa, Schumacher, Alonso, Fisichella, Massa, Coulthard, Button, and Heidfeld in tenth.

On lap 3 title contenders Schumacher and Alonso battled for fourth place, Alonso making an outside pass to take the position.

On lap 5 De la Rosa passed Barrichello to take over second place, Barrichello pitting at the end of the lap refueling taking on intermediate tyres.

On lap 6 Jenson Button passed Schumacher to take over fourth place.

At lap 10, as the rain continued to fall, Raikkonen led from De la Rosa, Alonso, Button, Schumacher, Fisichella, Coulthard, Heidfeld, Massa and Barrichello in tenth.

On lap 12 Massa pitted putting on full-wet tyres, De la Rosa on lap 16.

On lap 17, Schumacher and Fisichella battled for third place into turn one and made contact, Schumacer breaking his front wing having to pit to replace it.

Also on lap 17 Raikkonen and Button made their first pit stop.

On lap 18 Fisichella spun off the track, hitting the barrier but then continuing but retiring with damage, also Kubica spun, taking off his front wing necessitating a pitstop for repairs.

On lap 20 Alonso led from Raikkonen, De la Rosa, Button, Coulthard, Barrichello, Heidfeld, Schumacher, Ralf Schumacher and Scott Speed in tenth.

On lap 21 Rosberg spun and retired. On lap 24 Ralf Schumacher made his first stop followed by Trulli on lap 25.

On lap 27 Raikkonen crashed into the back of Vitantonio Liuzzi launching over the Toro Rosso and taking both cars out and bringing out the Safety Car. Alonso, De la Rosa, Barrichello, Coulthard, Heidfeld and Speed pitting.

Under the Safety Car period on lap 28 the order was Alonso leading Button, De la Rosa, Barrichello, Heidfeld, Coulthard, Schumacher, Ralf Schumacher, Massa and Kubica in tenth.

The race restarted on lap 31, as a dry line started to appear.

On lap 37 Kubica passed Massa to take eighth place. On lap 39 Schumacher passed Coulthard to take sixth place, Scott Speed pitting for dry tyres, but then spinning.

On lap 42 Massa made his second stop. Schumacher passing Heidfeld to take over fifth place. On lap 44 Kubica made his second pitstop, Button and Schumacher pitting the following lap, Ralf Schumacher on lap 48 and Trulli on lap 49 switching to dry tyres, Barrichello on lap 50 and Alonso and De la Rosa on lap 51.

Alonso rejoined in the lead but spun into the barriers at turn two when his right rear wheel came loose.

On lap 54 Button pitted from the lead from Heidfeld, Schumacher, De la Rosa, Barrichello, Coulhtard, Kubica, Ralf Schumacher, Massa and Trulli in tenth.

On lap 55 Heidfeld pitted from second rejoining in fourth.

At lap 60 Button led Schumacher by 20 seconds, followed by De la Rosa 4 seconds behind, Heidfeld, Barrichello, Coulthard, Kubica, Ralf Schumacher, Massa and Trulli in tenth.

Schumacher and De la Rosa battled for seconds place, De la Rosa taking the position on lap 66, Heidfeld passing Schumacher for third on lap 67.

On lap 68 Schumacher pulled in the pits and retired.