Schumacher wins German GP

Michael Schumacher, German GP 2006

Michael Schumacher, German GP 2006 

 © The Cahier Archive

Michael Schumacher dominated the German Grand Prix, at Hockenheim, in his Bridgestone shod Ferrari, taking his fifth win of the season and his 89th career victory in front of his home crowd. His team mate Felipe Massa finished second and Kimi Raikkonen finished third in his McLaren-Mercedes, some 13 seconds behind.

Fourth place went to Jenson Button in his Honda, followed by Fernando Alonso in his Renault in fifth, his team mate Giancarlo Fisichella in sixth, Jarno Trulli in his Toyota in seventh and Christian Klien in his Red Bull-Ferrari in the final points position.

At the start Raikkonen took the lead from pole, while on the first lap Coulthard and Ralf Schumacher touched and then separately Nico Rosberg spun into the barriers. Pedro de la Rosa retired with a mechanical problem on lap 2.

The order on lap 5 was Raikkonen ahead of Michael Schumacher, Massa, Button, Fisichella, Alonso, Webber, Barrichello, Klien and Liuzzi in tenth.

On lap 10 Raikkonen was the first to pit with a long stop having trouble changing the right rear tyre, handing over the lead to Schumacher.

On lap 16 Button was the next to pit from third place, followed by Barrichello on lap 18 retiring almost immediately after coming back on the track with a fire at the rear of the car.

Massa and Fisichella pitted on lap 19, followed by Schumacher and Alonso on lap 20.

On lap 24 the order was Schumacher from Massa, with the Ferraris some 20 seconds ahead of Webber in third, followed by Button, Raikkonen, Klien, Fisichella, Trulli, Alonso and Liuzzi in tenth.

On lap 25 Klien pitted from seventh, followed by Liuzzi on lap 26, Webber and Trulli on a two-stop strategy and Raikkonen with his second stop on lap 28.

At lap 30, Schumacher led Massa by 2 seconds, with Button in third, some 27 seconds back, followed by Fisichella, Webber, Alonso, Raikkonen, Klien, Trulli and Ralf Schumacher in tenth.

On lap 32 Jacques Villeneuve crashed on the final corner, his Sauber-BMW plowing straight off the corner and having a big impact, the Canadian getting out of the car unhurt.

On lap 35 Ralf Schumacher took a drive-through penalty for speeding in the pitlane.

On lap 40 Fisichella made his second stop, followed by Button from third place on lap 41, Alonso on lap 43 from fifth place, Massa on lap 44, race leader Schumacher on lap 45, Klien and Ralf Schumacher on lap 47, Webber on lap 48, Trulli on lap 51 and Raikkonen on lap 55 from third place, getting out battling Webber and taking fourth.

On lap 58 Raikkonen battles and takes third place away from Button. On lap 59 Webber slows and limps back to the pit dropping out of fifth place.

On lap 60 Schumacher led Massa, followed by Raikkonen 25 seconds behind, Button, Alonso, Fisichella, Trulli, Klien, Ralf Schumacher and Liuzzi in tenth.

On lap 61 Alonso had an off-track excursion, but staying ahead of his team mate.