Alonso wins Spanish GP

Fernando Alonso, Spanish GP 2006

Fernando Alonso, Spanish GP 2006 

 © The Cahier Archive

World Champion Fernando Alonso won the Spanish Grand Prix, in Barcelona, in dominating fashion in his Renault this afternoon, taking his third win of the season and his 11th of his career.

Michael Schumacher finished second, 18.5 seconds behind in his Ferrari, followed by the second Renault of Giancarlo Fisichella some 5.4 seconds further behind in third place.

Alonso, taking the win at his home Grand Prix in front of a jubilant crowd and Kind Juan Carlos, is the first Spaniard to win the Spanish Grand Prix.

Alonso now leads Michael Schumacher by 15 points in the Drivers World Championship.

Fourth place went to the second Ferrari of Felipe Massa, followed by Kimi Raikkonen in his McLaren-Mercedes in fifth, Jenson Button in his Honda in sixth, his team mate Rubens Barrichello in seventh and Nick Heidfeld in the Sauber-BMW taking the final points position.

At the start, polesitter Fernando Alonso maintain a Renault 1-2 into the first turn - Raikkonen jumping from 9th to 5th. Alonso stormed off with a series of fast laps, 4 seconds ahead on lap 4, up to 7 seconds by lap 10.

At lap 15 the running order was Alonso leading Fisichella by 9.4 seconds, followed by Schumacher, Massa, Raikkonen, Barrichello, Button, Trulli, Ralf Schumacher and Heidfeld in tenth.

On lap 15, Ralf Schumacher hit the rear of his team mate Trulli, and had to pit.

On lap 17, Alonso pitted with a 7.8 second lead, rejoining in fourth, his team mate Fisichella pitting the next lap, leaving Schumacher with the lead. On lap 18, Montoya spun, his car getting high-sided on a kerb putting the Colombian out of the race, meanwhile Massa pitted from second place.

On lap 22, Raikkonen pitted from third, followed by Schumacher from the lead on lap 23, coming out in second in front of Fisichella. On lap 24, Barrichello pitted, followed by his team mate Button the next lap, getting in front of Barrichello.

On lap 26, Fisichella went through the gravel at turn 3, putting Massa right on his tail.

On lap 27, Trulli and Rosberg pitted, followed by Webber and Klien on lap 28, and Heidfeld on lap 29.

At half distance, Alonso led Schumacher by 10.5 seconds, followed by Fisichella a further 9.7 seconds behind, with Massa running fourth, followed by Raikkonen Button, Barrichello, Heidfeld, Trulli and Webber in tenth.

During the second stint, Alonso eased out his lead over Schumacher from 10 seconds to 13.4 seconds by the time he pitted on lap 40.

On lap 41 Villeneuve finally made his one-stop, well over half distance, as well as the second stops for Fisichella and Barrichello, Massa on lap 43, Button on lap 44, Schumacher, Raikkonen and Trulli on lap 46, Webber on lap 47, and Rosberg and Heidfeld on lap 50.

At lap 53, with all the front runners having made their final stops, the order was Alonso over Schumacher by 14.7 seconds, followed by Fisichella, Massa, Raikkonen, Button, Barrichello, Heidfeld, Webber and Trulli in tenth.

The win was Alonso's 12th consecutive podium finish.