Montoya wins Italian GP

Start, Italian GP 2005

Start, Italian GP 2005 

 © The Cahier Archive

Juan Pablo Montoya won the Italian Grand Prix, at Monza, in his McLaren-Mercedes. The Colombian winning by 2.4 seconds ahead of World Championship leader Fernando Alonso in second and his Renault team mate Giancarlo Fisichella in third.

Kimi Raikkonen finished fourth, followed Toyota team mates Jarno Trulli and Ralf Schumacher in fifth and sixth, sub Antonio Pizzonia in the Williams-BMW in seventh and Jenson Button taking the final points position in eighth. Michael Schumacher finished in 10th in his Ferrari.

Into the first corner Montoya led with Alonso, Button and Sato following while Coulthard, Webber, Albers and Karthikeyen were involved in incidents and pitted.

Montoya and Alonso edged away from the pack, and by lap 10 the order was Montoya from Alonso by 2.3 seconds, Button in third 11 seconds further back followed by the pack of Sato, Barrichello, Trulli, Michael Schumacher and Fisichella. Kimi Raikkonen ran in 11th.

Michael Schumacher was the first of the leaders to pit on lap 13, followed by his team mate Barrichello, and Villeneuve on lap 14, Sato on lap 16, Button on lap 17, Sato back in for an unexpected stop on lap 18, Klien as well on lap 18, Alonso and Massa on lap 19, and Montoya and Trulli on lap 20, Fisichella on lap 21, Ralf Schumacher on lap 22, Pizzonia on lap 23 and finally Raikkonen on lap 26 on a one-stop strategy coming out in fifth place.

On lap 28, Raikkonen pitted with a left-rear tyre problem and rejoined in 12th.

On lap 30 the Montoya led Alonso by 9 seconds, Fisichella ran in third 18 seconds further back, followed by Trulli, Button, Ralf Schumacher, Barrichello, Michael, Pizzonia, Massa and Raikkonen in 11th.

On lap 35 Button was the first to make a second stop from 5th place, followed by Michael Schumacher on lap 36, Barrichello on lap 37, Alonso from 2nd and Villeneuve on lap 39, Montoya, Fisichella and Trulli on lap 40, Ralf Schumacher and Massa on lap 41, Barrichello for a left-rear tyre and Pizzonia on lap 43.

On lap 44 Raikkonen spun while in fourth, getting back under way, but losing a position to Trulli.

On lap 45 Montoya led from Alonso by 11 seconds, followed by Fisichella 16 seconds further back, Trulli, Raikkonen, Ralf Schumacher, Pizzonia, Button, Michael Schumacher and Massa in 10th.

On lap 46 Raikkonen overtakes Trulli to regain fourth place.

In the closing laps Montoya slowed with a left-rear tyre blistering but was able to nurse his McLaren-Mercedes home for the win.

At the finish, all cars were still running with no retirements.







Print Story