Raikkonen wins first Turkish GP

Kimi Raikkonen, Turkish GP 2005

Kimi Raikkonen, Turkish GP 2005 

 © The Cahier Archive

Kimi Raikkonen dominated the Turkish Grand Prix, in Istanbul, in his McLaren-Mercedes - winning ahead of the Renault of championship leader Fernando Alonso by 18 seconds, with Juan Pablo Montoya in third, one second behind.

Fourth place went to the Renault of Giancarlo Fisichella, followed by the BAR-Honda of Jenson Button, Jarno Trulli in his Toyota in sixth, and the Red Bull's of David Coulthard and Christian Klien in seventh and eighth.

At the start, Fisichella took the lead from polesitter Raikkonen, Alonso and Montoya, while at the back things were tight with Massa running wide and loosing his front wing.

Raikkonen charged through at turn 12 to take the lead back, with Alonso getting the call from the pits on lap 2 to overtake his team mate Fisichella.

On lap 6, Nick Heidfeld pits to replace his right-rear tyre, and is followed by his team mate Mark Webber on lap 9 with the same problem.

On lap 13, Alonso is the first to pit, coming back out in fifth place, followed by Fisichella on lap 14. At this point, Webber attempted a pass on Michael Scumacher, the World Champion giving no space and is spun by the Williams - both pitting for front wing damage - the German retiring on lap 16.

On lap 18, Trulli pits from third place.

On lap 20, Jenson Button gets by Alonso for third position - the British driver lighter on fuel. The next lap Montoya and Button pit, followed by race leader Raikkonen on lap 22.

On lap 23, Webber suffers another tyre problem and spins - the Australian retiring to the pits.

On lap 23, Christian Klien pits from fourth place, followed by his team mate David Coulthard and Rubens Barrichello on the next lap.

The standing after the first round of stops on lap 25 - Raikkonen leads Montoya by 12 seconds, Alonso, Trulli, Fisichella, Trulli, Button, Sato, Coulthard, Klien and Barrichello.

On lap 29, Heidfeld imitates his team mate and spins with a tyre down at turn 8 - while in the pits Massa's engine expires.

On lap 34, Michael Schumacher rejoins 19 laps down, trying to make up places in order to get a better qualifying starting position for Monza, while Alonso made his send pitstop, followed by Fisichella on lap 36 - with yet another problem with engaging the fuel rig.

Montoya pitted for his last stop on lap 41, Trulli on lap 43, Raikkonen and Klien on lap 45, Coulthard on lap 46 and Barrichello and Button on lap 47.

At lap 48 the order was Raikkonen was 20 seconds ahead of Montoya, who was 10 seconds ahead of Alonso, Button, Fisichella, Trulli, Coulthard, Klien, Sato and Barrichello.

On lap 55 Montoya (suffering from a flat-spotted right front tyre) spun - punted by Monteiro's Jordan after being lapped - allowing Alonso to catch up and pass the Colombian on the next lap.







Print Story